top of page

Spotlighting Excellence: 2024 Academic Awards Night Honors Student Achievements

The First Assembly Christian School Secondary faculty and staff, alongside cherished family and friends, gathered in unity to celebrate the outstanding achievements of students from sixth through twelfth grades during the esteemed Academic Honors Awards Night held on Thursday, April 25, 2024. This special evening was dedicated to acknowledging and applauding the academic excellence exhibited by our students across a spectrum of disciplines offered at FACS, encompassing English, Foreign Languages, Mathematics, Social Studies, Fine Arts, Science, and Journalism/Communications.

Throughout the ceremony, students gracefully crossed the stage, pausing for a memorable photo opportunity and graciously accepting certificates of well-deserved recognition. Additionally, the prestigious titles of Valedictorian and Salutatorian for the Class of 2024 were unveiled, adding a moment of pride and anticipation to the evening's festivities.

David Baker was presented the Four-Year Award for the highest academic honors in the areas of Mathematics and science at FACS. With the highest cumulative grade point average, David was also announced as the Valedictorian for the Class of 2024, the most prestigious award a student can receive during their K-12 academic tenure. He was also recognized for his academic excellence and involvement in the honors societies: Honors Calculus, Economics, AP Biology, Bible 12, and Science National Honor.

Alaina Street was announced as Salutatorian, achieving the second-highest cumulative grade point average. Alaina was also presented with multiple other honors societies recognitions, including STEAM 1, and Science National Honor Society.

Rebecca Barnett, Senior, also received the 4-Year Award for Social Studies.

Dr. Bryan Sanders, Head of School, Mrs. Jeannie Smeltser-Thompson, Director of Guidance and Counseling, Mr. Shawn Hardiman, Secondary Principal, Mr. Blake Bennett, Dean of Students, and Mrs. Dana Delisle, Secondary Faculty, announced all recognition and honors.

“It has been an honor to reward each of these students for their academic success this evening, Shawn Hardiman, Secondary Principal, FACS, stated at the conclusion of the ceremony. “It gives me great hope to know that students of this caliber are experiencing success at FACS. My prayer is that they will go change their communities and this city for the better, for the glory of God.”

Seniors will be honored again during upcoming commencement ceremonies, scheduled for Saturday, May 11, 2024, beginning at 10:00 a.m. in the main sanctuary at First Assembly Memphis, with family and friends invited to be present.

Honors Societies

Rho Kappa National Social Studies Honor Society | National English Honor Society | National Technical Honor Society | Mu Alpha Theta National Math Honor Society | Sociedad Honoraria Hispanica | Science National Honor Society | International Thespian and Junior Thespian Society | Tri-M and Junior Music Honor Society | National Honor Society | National Junior Honor Society

Honors were also recognized in the following areas of studies: English, Foreign Languages, Mathematics, Social Studies, Fine Arts, Science, and Journalism/Communications.

Honor Society Faculty Council

Mr. Domenic Andolina | Miss Kendall Boyd | Mrs. Dana DeLisle | Mrs. Wendy Gray | Mr. Shawn Hardiman | Dr. Sherrie Hopper | Mrs. Staci Jones | Mrs. Frances Miller | Mrs. Xenia O’Steen | Mrs. Carolyn Priest | Mrs. Jeannie Smeltser-Thompson

2024 Academic Awards Night Image Gallery

116 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page